I’m not normally a superstitious person – even though I’m a Red Sox fan.  During the regular season, I can ignore little weird superstitions (unless they work for me, like the positive correlation between the Red Sox scoring and me eating chocolate ice cream) and most losses don’t really bother me – there’s always another game to play, to make it back up.

All that changes when October baseball rolls around.  I become a superstitious freakshow, wearing the same t-shirt over and over again (this year it’s a 2007 World Series champs shirt), desperately scrubbing dishes to drum up good energy, and knitting obsessively on the same project (a sock, it must be a sock).  Two games into the post-season, the Sox are up 2-0 and my good mojo socks are seeing some excellent progress.

Pattern: Nutkin Socks

Yarn: Woolarina sock in what I’m told is a “Kate” colorway – I picked this up last weekend at Crafty Bastards, a local craft fair.

Needles: 2.75 mm two circs

Mods: I started out with 80 stitches, so I could make taller socks.  After a pattern repeat, I decreased down to 64 stitches over the course of the second pattern repeat.

I’m loving this pattern – it’s perfect for watching baseball.  After the first row of the repeat, I had it memorized, it’s really simple but looks great.  It works nicely with this yarn, too, which is variegated but sort of tonal.  Loving it – and hey, it’s got two Red Sox post-season wins knit into it, too!

Go Sox!

